Academic Advancement Program (AAP) Family Picnic

So today my dad and sister dropped by to come to the AAP Family Picnic that was thrown for us, the F/TSP students. Although they did not get to meet the head of the program or the counselors, they did get a chance to meet my Peer Counselor or PC, Danielle, who is the most amazing person ever. When we ditched the picnic because it was practically over, we headed to my dorm room where my dad got to see my living arrangements for the first time. I told him that as a general rule, the people on the first few floors of the building are basically mandated to take the stairs as the elevators are usually reserved for those on the higher floors or disabled (besides the elevators are slow—I beat a friend to the 7th floor using the stairs by the time it took her to use the elevator). They got a chance to meet my roommate who was absent the first day of the program. My dad also decided to buy his very first piece of Bruin gear. It must have been a huge step for him because he has been supporting the “other school” for a very long time. Although it was a lot of walking, we all made it and I had to say bye to my dad and sister again.

My dad and I at the Bruin Bear Statue at the heart of Campus.  (Photo cred: Nia Burton)
My dad and I at the Bruin Bear Statue at the heart of Campus. (Photo cred: Nia Burton)
Leave a Reply

