Pokémon G0!

Pokémon was a staple game in my childhood. I had Pokémon Red, Blue, Green, and Gold all on a yellow Game Boy Color. I even had Pokémon-themed sheets and posters. Every day Pokémon came on TV, I watched it. As I got older and graphics got better, I upgraded to a Nintendo DS Lite with Pokémon Ranger and Pokémon Pearl. I have not played any game beyond Pearl but I still consider myself a fan.

Pokemon-Games-7

When I heard of the concept of making Pokémon a mobile game and make it reality, I was excited. I could only imagine how the game would turn out. I did not know how they would make the game work at the time, but I was so ready to see what Nintendo could come up with. However, when the initial release date changed, I totally forgot about the game and continued on my own business. Then one day I was on Twitter and someone posted about Pokémon G0 and I rushed to download the game. This is what I was waiting for.

At the time, I was frustrated with the game not because it was buggy, but because my mobile data was not the best. I missed out on picking my favorite starter (Squirtle) and chose Bulbasaur (the starter I like the least) because I did not know that the Pokémon actually showed up on the screen. Nonetheless, I continued playing and learned along with the others playing the game. Despite the bugs, glitches, and server issues, I persevered and continued to play. Below are my stats and highest Pokémon

Q&A

What does your name mean?
LtDex stands for Lieutenant Dex which has a long history.

Why Team Mystic?
I was initially going to go with Team Instinct because I like the color yellow and Zapdos, but I chose Mystic because a friend at school was Mystic and thought that we could play together. (If anyone knows about Team Instinct, I’m glad I went with Mystic.)

Most popular Pokémon in your area?
Sandshrew, Ekans, Doduo, Geodude, Growlithe, Rhyhorn in no particular order.

What does your area look like?
Three Pokéstops at a nearby park and one gym.
2016-08-01-00.09.38.png.png

Is that a Dragonite?
Yup… and it’s Mystic owned
2016-07-31-19.58.53.png.png

What does the UCLA Pokémon G0 scene look like?
At the moment, I do not have a screenshot but last time I was there, Westwood and UCLA had plenty of Pokéstops. I could say that I will hit plenty of Pokéstops on the way to and from campus.

To everyone playing, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

