Going Greek #2

In the second installment of Going Greek (I finally have a name for it), we have Cambria C. from Alpha Chi Omega here to give us a little insight about how she feels about the pros, cons, and stigmas of Going Greek.

Name: Cambria C.
Member of: Alpha Chi Omega (ΑΧO)
Joined: Fall 2016
Member for: 1 years

Q: Why did you join?

Cambria C.: “I joined because my mom was in a sorority in college. She had a great experience with it and maintained friendships with her sisters. I also thought it was a good way to make connections and get involved in leadership.

Q: What are the pros and cons of joining a sorority?

A:Pros: It makes the campus so much smaller; especially for me because I’m from a really small town. Initially, UCLA was overwhelming, but now I have 150 friendly faces in classes and all around campus–making navigating the campus seem more manageable.
Sorority life is so much fun and I’ve met so many cool people not only from my house, but also from other houses that we co-program events with.
Sorority life helps me be more social and more involved in activities on campus which makes me happier here!

Cons: it can be expensive.”

Q: What do you have to say about the stigma against fraternities and sororities?

A: “I guess people think that the bonds aren’t real. Some may think that we aren’t really friends within the house; which isn’t true for my house. For example, I can go to lunch by myself there and sit down with anyone and have a great conversation. I feel we have real, genuine connections with each other and I feel people outside our sorority don’t see that or refuse to believe it. At the end of the day, it’s nice to have a small army there to back you up.

Here is the link to Alpha Chi Omega Bruins!

Thank you Cambria C. for contributing to Going Greek and hope to have more contributions in the future. If you have any questions about Greek life that you would like me to address, please feel free to leave me a comment!

